April 2020 PTA Meeting Recap

Thanks to all who attended and participated in the virtual April 16 Woodburn PTA Meeting.

Meeting-related links:
Proposed April 2020 Meeting Minutes (for review before next PTA meeting on May 21)
April 2020 meeting presentation

Slate of officers for 2020-2021:
Mary Cunningham – President
Matt Levi – Vice President
Rebecca Leach – Treasurer
April Rosenthal – Secretary

Save the Date: May 21
The next PTA Member Meeting will take place online on May 21 from 7-8 pm.
(Meeting link coming soon)
Join us to celebrate all our volunteers and supporters.
Meet the new Woodburn PTA officers for the coming school year.

Voting in of the new board will take place via SurveyMonkey, and administered by email. Woodburn PTA will send an email with the voting link to all current PTA members on May 21, and voting will be open until a specified time during the meeting.

All board candidates have been vetted by the nominating committee. Should anyone decide to run from the floor or self-nominate for any board position for the May 21 election, please contact the current PTA President by email at president@woodburnpta.com with your intent to run and your qualifications.

We look forward to seeing all PTA member at the virtual meeting in May!

Teacher Appreciation Week | May 4-8, 2020

May 4-8 is Teacher Appreciation Week!

Parents and students, get ready to show some love to our Woodburn teachers and staff!

Facebook Fun

On Sunday, May 3, be on the lookout for our Facebook page updates to get ready for the week ahead. Each morning and afternoon, from Monday through Thursday, we’ll recognize a different group of teachers and staff.

We invite the entire extended Woodburn community to join the fun by posting sharing your stories, photos and more about our superb school staff!

Virginia Lottery’s Thank-a-Teacher

Visit www.thankateacherva.com to send a digital note to your child’s teachers.

There is no limit to how many you can send, and teachers and staff who receive a note can enter to win a prize. Don’t forget our specialist teachers – you can find everyone’s email addresses at the end of this page.

With each note card, teachers can enter for a chance to win a fantastic Virginia-themed vacation!

Quick Tip: you don’t have to wait until May 4 to start sending notes – get an early start on sending notes!

Friday is Game Day!

We’ll round out the week by hosting a virtual game of Pictionary at lunchtime on Friday, May 8.

Interested in contributing toward Pictionary game prizes? Contact our event organizer: ashley.e.maines@gmail.com

More tokens of appreciation
Each teacher and staff member will receive a personalized Woodburn notepad to be able to share their Woodburn pride.

What you’ll need for the digital Thank You Note entries

Teacher NameEmailTeaching Team
Chloe Mansourimoaied       cmansourimoa@fcps.eduKinder
Justine Bryanjlbryan@fcps.eduKinder
Diana Partykadmpartyka@fcps.eduKinder
Tahmena Rauftirauf1@fcps.eduKinder
Kimmie Nicolauknicolau@fcps.eduKinder
Itadal Ahmadiyahmad@fcps.eduKinder
Bethany Peckbpeck@fcps.eduKinder
Giovanna Jonesgjones2@fcps.eduKinder
Thea Van Burentvanburen@fcps.edu1st
Lorie Freemanlfreeman@fcps.edu1st
Catherine Lannoncwlannon@fcps.edu1st
Crystal Windcawind@fcps.edu1st
Alicia Burdaaburd@fcps.edu2nd
Laura Hoyoslahoyos@fcps.edu2nd
Ally Inversoainverso@fcps.edu2nd
Pamela Maidaspmaidabalde@fcps.edu2nd
Catie Orellanaceorellana@fcps.edu2nd
Alyson McCartyamccarty@fcps.edu2nd
Amanda Deyakdey@fcps.edu3rd
Melissa Greenmgreen1@fcps.edu3rd
Amanda Mannoacmanno@fcps.edu3rd
Victoria Meshankovlmeshanko@fcps.edu3rd
Bridget Hanneybmhanney@fcps.edu4th
Morgan Vaughtmnvaught@fcps.edu4th
Victoria Anderson Soorenkovhanderson@fcps.edu5th
Ashley Castilloacastillo1@fcps.edu5th
Evelyn Wellseawells1@fcps.edu5th
Angela Bryanabryan@fcps.edu6th
Jessica DiBenedittojadibenedit1@fcps.edu6th
Fran Nadelflnadel@fcps.edu6th
Katy Richmankjrichman@fcps.eduOffice
Bridget Louderbglouder@fcps.eduOffice
Dwayne Youngdayoung@fcps.eduOffice
Sue Chappellsmchappell@fcps.eduOffice
Jackie Garciajegarcia1@fcps.eduOffice
Debora Nunezdnunez@fcps.eduOffice
Dorothy Martino(no email located)Office
Robyn Fernandezrlfernandez@fcps.eduOffice
Sarah Villegassavillegas@fcps.eduCafeteria
Thuy Trinhtttrinh@fcps.eduCafeteria
Reina Carranzarcarranza@fcps.eduCafeteria
Nomi Parknpark@fcps.eduCafeteria
Beth Bacalso(no email located)Cafeteria
Guadalupe Avila(no email located)Custodian
Magno Gomezmgomez2@fcps.eduCustodian
Liliana Gamarra Calderonlpgamarracal@fcps.eduCustodian
Beth Ann Eadiebeadie1@fcps.eduSACC
Alicia Hopkinsamhopkins@fcps.eduSACC
Jean Dennis(no email located)SACC
Mairo Salces(no email located)SACC
Thomas Karnistekarnis@fcps.eduGen Ed IA
Maryia Viraghmviragh@fcps.eduPHTA
Bethany Buckleyesbuckley@fcps.eduSPED
Bethany Covarrubiasbscovarrubia@fcps.eduSPED
Yesica Nunezyanunez@fcps.eduSPED
Sheryl Ethridgesethridge@fcps.eduSPED
Marylou Feehanmfeehan@fcps.eduSPED
Kerry O’Brienkeobrien@fcps.eduSPED
Tania Tapiattapia@fcps.eduSPED
Joanne Waltonjewalton@fcps.eduSPED
Danielle Binnsdlbinns@fcps.eduSPED
Raana Gillrngill@fcps.eduSPED
Bruno Gutierrez(no email located)SPED
Mary Johnsonmjjohnson3@fcps.eduSPED
Geetanjali Malhotragmalhotra@fcps.eduSPED
Maureen Smallmssmall@fcps.eduSPED
Margie Campbellmmcampbell@fcps.eduAAP
Jonathan Kettlerjfkettler1@fcps.eduArt
Jennifer Jenkinsjajenkins@fcps.eduArt
Joseph McClurejrmcclure@fcps.eduBand
Megan Aquilinameaquilina@fcps.eduBand
Amanda Castellucciaacastellucc@fcps.eduESOL
Elizabeth Cooperetcooper@fcps.eduESOL
Rebecca Wilkinson(no email located)ESOL
Adriana Postiglioniaipostiglion@fcps.eduESOL
Susannah Pothurajuslpothuraju@fcps.eduESOL
Limari Perez Castellanoslperezcastel@fcps.eduFLES (Spanish)
Brian Shieldsbjshields@fcps.eduInstructional Coach
Susan Viniskysdvinisky@fcps.eduLibrarian
LaTonya Floydlmfloyd@fcps.eduMath Specialist
Chelsea Ettereceettere@fcps.eduMath Resource
Carrie Ragonachragona@fcps.eduMusic
Mary Realmereal@fcps.eduMusic
Billy Shirleyrwshirley@fcps.eduPE
Jay Coakleyjjcoakley@fcps.eduPE
Paula Cortespecortes@fcps.eduReading Specialist
Ann Navarroanavarro@fcps.eduReading Resource
Kelley Daubermankrdauberman@fcps.eduSBTS EO
Kathleen Gannonkcgannon1@fcps.eduCounselor
Nancy Landisnjlandis@fcps.eduSpeech
Erin Hoffmannehoffmann@fcps.eduStrings
Bradley Johnsonbmjohnson1@fcps.eduStrings
Susannah Shamliansshamlian@fcps.eduStrings
Kevin Delaine(no email located)Tspec
Sarah Bobb(no email located)Adapted PE
Eric Fleming(no email located)Asst Tech Resource
Mari Franqui(no email located)Audiologist
Sarah Korfontasfkorfonta@fcps.eduBehavioral Specialist
Kate Adams(no email located)Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Karen Cassidy(no email located)Hearing Itinerant
Sharon Mazurowskisbmazurowski@fcps.eduOccupational Therapy
David Glasserdmglasser@fcps.eduPsychologist
Rachel Ratke(no email located)Physical Theapist
Molly Buchananmabuchanan@fcps.eduSocial Worker
Janice Dishek(no email located)Vision

COVID-19: A Parent Guide for School-Aged Children

From James F. Lane, Ed.D., Superintendent of Public Instruction

The Governor of Virginia ordered all K-12 schools in Virginia to close through the end of this academic year on March 23, 2020. The Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) will issue guidance to help local school divisions execute plans to continue instruction, while ensuring students are served equitably, regardless of income level, access to technology, English learner status or special needs. This includes options for additional instruction through summer programming, affording flexibility in course requirements and integrating instruction into coursework next year. The VDOE is also in contact with the federal government and is preparing a waiver for testing requirements. The VDOE has also been working closely with the Governor’s Office, the Virginia Department of Health, and other state agencies to ensure our public schools and communities have the most up-to-date information and resources to be proactive and to respond to concerns about COVID-19. The health and safety of our children and staff are our top priorities. We continue to hear from parents and our school leaders about their concerns and understand the fears any parent may have. The VDOE has created the attached parent’s guide to serve as a resource for parents, families and caregivers on a variety of topics related to COVID-19 and their students.

Continue to visit the VDOE website for additional updates and guidance on COVID-19. If you have questions, please contact the VDOE Department of Special Education and Student Services, at specialed.assistantsuperintendent.memo@doe.virginia.gov.

Parent Information Relating to Special Education – MAY 2020

All these opportunities are FREE unless noted.  In most cases you must register if registration information is provided.

When other events become available they will be posted at: https://fairfaxcountysepta.org/upcoming-community-events/

Note that The FCPS Parent Resource Center is still open, and it continues to provide direct assistance to families, educators, and community members.  The staff there can help you find answers and solve problems. Email:  prc@fcps.edu   Phone: 703-204-3941

The Fairfax-Falls Church Community Service Board is providing free access to Web and mobil tools to support our resilience and well-being. Appropriate for ages 13-adult. Start here: https://files.constantcontact.com/bbee573c701/92633049-c14e-4509-8384-f426ebbbfbe7.pdf
Setting the Stage for Distance Learning Success Fri. May 1, 10 am-noon, Webinar Learn strategies to help support your pK-12 child’s learning with realistic expectations, routines, and organizational supports. Register: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSebBycj8L1Xm169WK0xeUippoJ8OHv-7qq9Tz7CEoimdVpoZA/viewform
Dr. Dan’s Support Group for Parents of Exceptional Kids  Mondays 1-2 pm, starting May 4, Online This new support group for parents of special needs children and youth will be facilitated by a behavioral pediatrician.  Register:  https://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/eventReg?oeidk=a07eh1pyh6fa5912327&oseq=&c=&ch=
Disability Benefits:  VA’s Medicaid Waivers and Social Security Mon. May 4, 7-9 pm, Webinar Disability benefits are tricky.  Learn about Social Security benefits and VA’s Medicaid Waivers what they are, who is eligible, and how do to apply.  Register:  https://www.eventbrite.com/e/disability-benefits-vas-medicaid-waivers-and-social-security-registration-99076633879?aff=erelpanelorg
Business Networking Event for Special Needs Parents Friday, May 8, 9:00-10:30 am Online Connect with fellow special needs parents and business owners, build your referral network, and share best practices. Information:  https://thearcofloudoun.org/networking/
Maintaining Wellness and School Supports During COVID-19 Fri. May 8, 10 am-noon, Webinar Learn strategies for maintaining wellness for self and family, how to notice children’s stress, activities to foster resilience, and other resources. Register:  https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSedQPwtGZdR_ki7FAHzz40iNRI0vqPWUaBQcVvD2VD7I5tqlw/viewform
Motivating Responsible Behavior When Kids Are Home 24/7 Fri. May 15, 10 am-noon, Webinar Learn how to manage sibling relationships, and resistance to homework, while having children help with chores around the house. Register:  https://www.fcps.edu/resources/family-engagement/parent-resource-center/register-free-workshops-parent-resource-center
Business Networking Event for Special Needs Parents Fri. May 22, 9:30-10:30 am, Online Connect with fellow special needs parents & business owners, while building your referral network. Meets every other Friday. Information:  https://thearcofloudoun.org/networking/
Managing Stress in Children Wed. May 27, 7:00 – 8:30 pm, Learn the signs and symptoms of stress as well as techniques on how to engage in positive ways with your children to avoid stress at home and  school. Register:  https://www.theauburnschool.org/speakerseries

Plan Ahead — Transition University — 5-session self-paced online course Sun. June 7,  8:00 pm – Monday, July 20,  4:00 pm   Parents/guardians of school-age children can learn how to navigate the transition process to prepare their children for the adult world. Register:  https://www.eventbrite.com/e/summer-2020-transition-university-virtual-training-registration-80303508957
Plan Ahead — An Individualized Approach to Raising Your Challenging Child — 9 session course Tuesdays June 23-Aug. 25, Via Zoom This program is to help parents identify the source of their child’s challenging behavior and learn what they can do about it.  For parents of children ages 3-12. Register:  http://www.parentchildjourney.com/journey/ $ Cost varies.

Support Groups
All these support groups are open to newcomers, and they are free, except where noted.  No diagnosis is required to participate. Participants are typically given the opportunity to share their story, experience support, and glean guidance (as desired) from group members regarding both community and school resources.  Confidentiality is respected.  Many, but not all, have switched to online format.
Alpha Moms  This support group for adoptive parents meets monthly in McLean.  Contact:  robin4brady@gmail.com
Autism Dads meets one evening monthly in Falls Church.  Contact:  George Buzby at 571-419-1257 or gbuzby@aol.com
CHADD: Children & Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder

  • Alexandria CHADD Parent Support Group  4th Mon. of each month at 6:30 pm.  Contact:  Jenny  ADHDParentMountVernon@gmail.com  or call 703-472-4678.
  • Burke CHADD Support Group for Parents, Caregivers and Family Members Last Thursday of the month at 7:00 pm.  Contact Kim Griffin: kimberlyrgriffin@yahoo.com
  • Loudoun County CHADD Parent Support 3rd Tue. morning of the month in Sterling.  Contact:  Bonnie Little  571-306-2932 or on Facebook @loudounahdhsupport
  • West Fairfax CHADD Evening Parent Support Group  3rd Thur. of each month at 7:30 pm Contact:  Sharon  clintob@aol.com  or 703-716-4646.
  • West Fairfax CHADD Morning Parent Support Group  1st Tues. of each month at 10:30 am Contact:  Sharon  clintob@aol.com  or 703-716-4646.

CSB Family Support Group at Gatlan Center  2nd and 4th Wed. of each month 6-8 pm in Alexandria Contact:  Samar.Chwairy@fairfaxcounty.gov or call 703-799-2882.
D.A.D.S.  Dads Appreciating Down Syndrome 3rd Tue. each month, 7-9 pm in Alexandria.  Contact:  George gbuzby@aol.com or call 703- 545-6089.
Fairfax Juvenile Court Parent Support Group for problems including runaway behavior, truancy, alcohol/drug abuse, and serious behavioral problems at home, at school, or in the community. 7:30 pm every Tues. Room 201.1 Fairfax County Courthouse – call 703-246-2495.
Kinship Caregivers Support Group  2nd & 4th Thur. monthly, 6:30-8:00 pm, South County Gov. Ctr. Rm. 220, 8350 Richmond Hgwy, Alexandria.   Free dinner and resources. Register 1 week ahead:  KFI@fairfaxcounty.gov or 703-246-4653
Kinship Café  – meets monthly on the 2nd Wed. in Fairfax.  Free dinner.  Activities for children and discussion for adults.  Register 1 week ahead  by calling 703-246-4653 or online at https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/hscode/EReg/Registration.aspx?groupID=27
NAMI:  National Alliance on Mental Illness builds better lives for affected families.  Arlington Parent Support Group meets two Sundays a month at 7:00-8:30 pm.  Contact:  Naomi 703-862-9588  verdugo.naomi@gmail.com
OCD Family Support Group   1st Mon. of each month, 7:30 pm.  Contact:  familygroupocd@verizon.net   or  call 202-215-5859.
Northern Virginia Tourette Support Group meets the 2nd Sunday of each month at noon at the Chantilly Public Library.  Contact:  mark.bramer@gmail.com
OCD Family Support Group 1st Monday of each month 7:30 pm. Contact:  familygroupocd@varizon.net or call 202-215-5859
Parents of Autistic Children (POAC) meeting times and location posted at: https://poac-nova.org/events/
Parents of Autistic Teens meets the 2nd Sat. of each month in Oakton.  Contact:  Maria Dubuc 703-970-3676 or Admin@ASNV.org

Woodburn Elementary Food Drive

Woodburn Elementary Food Drive

DONATION DETAILS
Deadline: 
Every Saturday by 4pm (until stay at home order is done)

Location: 
3403 Cypress Drive
Holmes Run Acres Neighborhood
Items may be placed in boxes at the end of the driveway

Many Woodburn families receive “Power Packs” through a community organization called Food for Others. Power Packs are bags of food for the weekend for elementary school students and their families. During this time of crisis, the Woodburn community is helping Food for Others as they serve our area’s families who are in need.

If you are able, please consider donating shelf stable food by dropping it off at a Woodburn neighbor and volunteer’s home: 3403 Cypress Drive (in Holmes Run Acres neighborhood). Please drop donations by 4pm on Saturdays for distribution the following week. You will see boxes at the end of the driveway.

Here’s what has been requested:

  • Rice
  • Dried Beans
  • Pasta
  • Flour Maseca – corn flour to make tortillas
  • Canned tuna
  • Canned tomatoes/sauce
  • Nuts
  • Cereal
  • Crackers
  • Bread
  • Fruit juice
  • Cooking oil
  • Granola bars
  • Nutella
  • Toilet Paper
  • Diapers

If you would like to make a financial contribution, you can support efforts by donating to either Food for Others (foodforothers.org/give-money/ ) or the FCPS Foundation (fcpsfoundation.org/impact/kids-in-need/) which has supported meals for students and their families during the week.

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING
OUR WOODBURN FAMILIES!